en-US - *

Ski reviews

 

Freeride ski review(s)
Liberty Double Helix

en-US - * - 3812
Interesting? Share this review:

Tester Craig Liberty Double Helix freeride skiTester Alex Liberty Double Helix freeride skiLiberty Double Helix

Dimensions:

Length (cm): 174, 182, 190
Sidecut (mm): 146-121-136
Radius (m): 21.0, 23.0, 25.5


Characteristics:

Terrain: 20% piste - 80% off-piste
Discipline: freeride
Skier level: advanced - expert
Stability: solid
Floatation: average for width
Profile: twin tip, front rocker - low camber - slight tail rocker

en-US - * - 4635

Freeride ski Liberty Double Helix 2016

 

Logo Yellow
GentianRetail price:
$ 699.95

 

Check Shops & Discounts

Heyman's review: Advanced freeride skier

Advanced level freeride skier
Heyman's rating of this ski:

5 stars


 Considering his skiers profile:

en-US - * - 2955

Reviewer Heyman

"What I look for in my ultimate freeride ski is plenty of float, maneuverability and playfulness. And you should be able to lay some trenches on the slopes as well. Weight reduction is all important for easy turning in difficult circumstances."

 SkillsLevel 13
 FitnessLevel 7
 SpeedLevel 12
 Length:178 cm
 Weight:85 kg

 


My favourite freeride skis:

1. Liberty Double Helix
Freeride ski Liberty Double Helix 2015

 

2. DPS Wailer 112 RP2 Pure3
Freeride ski DPS Wailer 112 RP2 Pure3 2017

 

3. Line Mr. Pollard's Opus
Freeride ski Line Mr. Pollard's Opus

 

To all my reviews

 

Brilliant freeride ski


The Liberty Double Helix is the epiphany of freeriding. It combines the effortless float of a deep powder ski with the carving abilities on hard pack of a backside all-mountain ski. Never have I encountered a ski over 120mm wide underfoot that behaves this playful and maneuverable on piste. These skis also race through chopped snow and soft snow chunks, fly over hard snow chunks and frozen tracks. Throw a huge boulder at the Double Helix and it won't flinch. And that generates so much confidence in these skis that you realize you dare ski the most gnarliest descent you've ever done. As your audacity grows each time you ski the Double Helix, you know you're ready to cross the next frontier. And isn't that what freeriding is all about?

Limitless versatility

Who ever thought that a ski could be that light weight, have a big front rocker and still be super stable at whatever speed you ski on hard pack without any tip vibration? Add to that a fast and light edge switch as if you were on a pair of skis half this size and you have the only ski you need in your freeride quiver. The only difficulty I experienced with the Double Helix was when I had to return them to the dealer. 

Liberty about the Double Helix

"The best of both worlds. The Double Helix is at home on big mountains and sidecountry lines anywhere, yet will still carve better than you would think possible. Great flotation, light weight, and the ability to make easy work of any type of snow makes the Double Helix a quiver-killer", says Liberty. I couldn't agree more!

Related skis

Salomon Rocker2 122: is similar to the Squad 7 in abilities, but has a slightly smaller radius of about 26m.
Line Mr. Pollard's Opus: an amazing freeride ski, that floats on powder as well as it carves on piste.
Armada Magic J: wider than the Double Helix, producing even more float, but less edge grip.

 

en-US - * - 4635

Freeride ski Liberty Double Helix 2016

 

Logo Yellow
GentianRetail price:
$ 699.95

 

Check Shops & Discounts

Comments  
# Tom 2017-02-01 01:29
First, thanks for this site. It's an amazing resource!

This Double Helix sounds like a winner. Could you tell me what length your reviewers skied, and where it was mounted. I believe Liberty shows two mount points.
Reply
# Tester Heyman 2017-02-01 13:11
Hi Tom,

Alex and I skied the 190cm, which was not too long at all for my body length of 178cm. I can't remember about the mount points, but Craig writes in his review the bindings were placed perfectly at 2cm behind the standard mount position. But if I'm not mistaken, he likes to sit back a little. We will hear from him in no time, as he's always eager to answer questions asap.

Heyman
Reply
# Tester Heyman 2017-02-01 13:29
Ehh, small correction: tested length was 182cm.
Reply
# Tom 2017-02-03 00:58
Thanks for the response! I'm 188 cm and 88 kg, and thinking the 190 length.

Thoughts?
Reply
# Tom 2017-02-03 02:50
Thanks for the replies! I'm 6'2" and 195 pounds, so maybe the 190 for me?
Reply
# Craig 2017-02-03 16:40
Hello Tom, well, first of all, the Double Helix is no longer in production, so I assume you found some of last years skis. I also skied the 182 in this ski, and it was a bit short for me, but I liked it very much. This is the reason I moved the bindings 2cm back of recommended mount position, to add stability to the front of the ski. The DH was a narrower version of the Liberty Genome, which in a 187cm (for me at 6'1" and 185) is perfect, and still a top pick pow ski! I agree, the 190 is the correct length for you in the DH. Frederik is about to post my "2017-18 POWDER SKI REVIEW" on the Yellow Gentian Site. It does not have the DH listed, but I think you will find some very interesting updates, and ratings, on this years, and next years pow skis. Craig
Reply
# Tom 2017-02-04 01:51
Thanks for all the input. Looking forward to your powder ski review, Craig!
Reply
Add comment


Security code
Refresh

en-US - en-US

en-US - en-US

en-US - en-US

en-US - en-US

en-US - en-US

en-US - en-US

en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US

en-US - en-US

en-US - en-US

en-US - en-US

 

en-US - en-US

 

en-US - en-US

 

en-US - en-US

 

en-US - en-US

 

en-US - en-US

 

en-US - en-US

 

en-US - en-US

 

en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - *


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - *


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - *


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


 


 

en-US - en-US


en-US - *


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - *


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - *


en-US - en-US


en-US - *


en-US - en-US


en-US - *


en-US - en-US


en-US - *


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - *


en-US - en-US


en-US - *


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - *


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - *


en-US - *


en-US - *


en-US - en-US


en-US - *


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US


en-US - en-US

Cross ski Atomic Redster X9 +X14 TL RS 2019

 

Atomic
Redster X9 + X14 TL RS

Price

-Review-

en-US - en-US


en-US - *

Goggles Overview Page

en-US - *

Craig and the DPS Cassiar 95

DPS Cassiar 95 Foundation review

en-US - *

2017-2018 Powder Ski Review

Wider skis are better! Let's check it out.

by Craig

I have selected some of the wider offerings (approximate 115mm underfoot and above) that were available for 2016-17 season, as well, the new releases coming for 2017-18. See the individual ski reviews on the Yellow Gentian site for further details on each ski, and best internet pricing on...

Full article...

en-US - en-US - 3752 TriVaGo.com for hotel bookings
en-US - en-US

Freeride ski Armada Trace 108 2018

 

Armada
Trace 108


Price

-Review-

en-US - en-US

Freeride ski Black Crows Nocta 2018

 

Clack Crows
Nocta


Price

-Review-

en-US - en-US

Freeride ski HEAD Kore 117 2018

 

HEAD
Kore 117


Price

-Review-

en-US - en-US

Freeride ski Stöckli Stormrider 88 2018

 

Stöckli
Stormrider 88


Price

-Review-

en-US - *

Freeride ski Völkl Mantra M5 2019

 

Völkl
Mantra M5


Price
Not for sale yet

-Review-

en-US - en-US

Freeride ski K2 Pinnacle 88 Ti 2018

 

K2
Pinnacle 88 Ti


Price
Not for sale yet

-Review-

en-US - en-US

Discounted skipass

Logo Yellow Gentian

We've found a partner that supplies lift tickets with discounts:


Getskitickets.com

Get ski tickets with discount at getskitickets.com
en-US - en-US

Rent a ski online

Ski rental via Yellow Gentian:

JANS.com, Park City, Utah:

JANS.com for skirental

Get 10-45% discount at:

North America and the Alps:

Logo Skiset for ski rental